Mightily Stuck!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mightily Stuck!!

I have been researching my family tree for around 6 months (this time) and have been really successful on my mother's side going back to Henry III, John Lackland and Henry II, but I am completely stuck on my GGG GF (Alexander Hoggins, born circa 1773, who married Jane Reay on 26 Aug 1798 at All Saints, Newcastle upon Tyne, England) and died in 1851. I have got his approximate age from the 1851 Census but I CANNOT trace his birth.

I have searched England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales to no avail. I have been on to Northumbria Archives to see if they had a birth record and a marriage certificate so I could identify his parents. No luck on birth but they found his marriage but it did not show his parents on the certificate, therefore I think his birth record is the only method of progressing. I think his mother could be called Margaret Hall which I found ages ago but I cannot now find this record!

Does anyone have any ideas?

Do the witnesses of the marriage help ?

Family link perhaps ?

Comment

is this one likely
      Alexander Hoggan
      Birth Date: 5 Feb 1772
      Baptism Date: 9 Feb 1772
      Baptism Place: , Bo'ness, West Lothian, Scotland
      Father: James Hoggan
      Mother: Ann Dykes
      FHL Film Number: 1066613
      Reference ID: 2:17GSCJG

Comment

I have merged your threads together. Having two identical threads will just confuse anyone who tries to help you out.

Had you seen the reply from yesterday?
        Caroline
        Caroline's Family History Pages
        Meddle not in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and good with ketchup.

Comment

Sorry Caroline, I think we must have been doing this at the same time. I wondered why it had left todays on the thread, so I deleted it :o
          Chrissie passed away in January 2020.

Comment

Originally posted by Chrissie Smiff View Post