Finding a daughter with only the name of a Father

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding a daughter with only the name of a Father

Hello. Hope you are all doing well. I am very new to this type of research and I am having a difficult time getting started. I am reaching out for some guidance.

I am trying to find the daughter of a man named Alfred who was born in Montreal, QC Canada and died from a heart attack in Port Alice, British Columbia. Alfred had a daughter while living in British Columbia. I know a good amount more about Alfred but I know nothing about his daughter except that she was born between 1965-1975.

I recently located Alfred's death certificate hoping that there would be a reference to his daughter and/or the mother of the daughter but unfortunately the death certificate only referenced his ex-wife in Montreal.

I really feel like I am at a dead end here. I do not know if Alfred had a relationship with his daughter or with the mother of the daughter. I do now know if the daughter shares/shared Alfred's last name. Regardless of their relationship, I assume Alfred's name would appear on the daughters birth certificate. Is there a way to search birth certificates by father's name?

If anyone has any suggestions just a general direction I should aim my efforts in I would sincerely apprecaite it.

Thank-you,

Chris

I would say canada has a 100 yr privacy rule on birth certificates. This woman in question might even be married, so more difficult to locate. If you know where she may have lived, you could see if electoral registers are available.

Failing that, does alfred have any relatives you can trace to ask about him or his descendants?

Comment

kylejustin thank-you for replying. Yes this makes sense that there is a privacy rule on Birth Certificates. And you are right for sure she could be married. Unfortunately, I have no idea where she lives and I can't even narrow down where she was born other then 'British Columbia'.