Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When is a full suscription not a full subscription?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When is a full suscription not a full subscription?

Really annoyed with Ancestry!

I have a full World subscription, and searching for a twig on my tree, I came up with a possible army deserters entry for him. The details gave an image avaialble on something called 'Fold3'. I clicked on the image link and found I needed a $50 subscription to view it. On closer inspection, this is just another part of Ancestry, so why isn't it included in a whole world subscription?

They do a 7 day free trial, so I was able to get the image, not that it was any help as there isn't much more in the image than the transcription. The search on this sub-site only allows you to search for US military records, but the image I had was from the UK Police Gazette. This site seems pretty useless for non-US searches.

I have immediately cancelled my free subscription, as they take credit card details to activate it!
    Last edited by PeteW1959; 08-02-17, 10:09.
    Co-ordinator for PoW project Southern Region 08
    Researching:- Wieland, Habbes, Saettele, Bowinkelmann, Freckenhauser, Dilger in Germany
    Kincaid, Warner, Hitchman, Collie, Curtis, Pocock, Stanley, Nixey, McDonald in London, Berks, Bucks, Oxon and West Midlands
    Drake, Beals, Pritchard in Kent
    Devine in Ireland

I have moved you post to Research Pete because I thought it a more appropriate place for it.
    Last edited by Chrissie Smiff; 08-02-17, 11:19.
    Chrissie passed away in January 2020.

Comment

I noticed that the other day too and was surprised, I did not pay it, but complained to Ancestry.

Comment

It's the index they have. The images are payed for, like finding records on familysearch and having to go to fmp or ancestry.

Comment