Is progress possible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is progress possible?

I am new to family history research and I am just wondering if I will be able to make any progress or not.

All of the books that I have read tell you to start with your nearest family and then work backwards using such info. as birth/marriage certificates etc.

However my problem is that none of my family are now alive, and I do not have any certificates etc. to refer to.

Is it possible to make any progress when I have such little information available?

Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

John

Originally posted by John123 View Post
    I am new to family history research and I am just wondering if I will be able to make any progress or not.

All of the books that I have read tell you to start with your nearest family and then work backwards using such info. as birth/marriage certificates etc.

However my problem is that none of my family are now alive, and I do not have any certificates etc. to refer to.

Is it possible to make any progress when I have such little information available?

Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

John
    Hi John,
    Welcome to the forum.
    You can indeed make progress by starting with yourself - your full birth certificate will give your father's name and your mother's maiden name. If you don't have a full birth certificate you can buy one from the General Register Office here https://www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/c...ates/Login.asp for £9.50.

Once you have that you can find their marriage record and get the certificate which will give you their father's names and their ages.

You then trace their birth certificates which will give the same information as yours and once you get back to people born before 1911 you can track them with their families through the censuses going back to 1841.