Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Michael Fitzgerald, born 1771 Cork, Ireland

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum so if this is the wrong place to post this my apologies. In fact, I'm new to building my tree, a week in, and have already found some interesting stories and characters.

Pretty much the moment I left Australia on a small slice of my family tree the trail has gone cold. I've managed to find out a fair bit about Michael Fitzgerald but cannot find his parents to forge beyond, here's a snapshot:

Michael Fitzgerald was born in 1771 in Cork, Ireland. Convicted of being a rebel and sentenced to life, he was deported to Australia on the Minerva as a convict arriving in 1800 and later pardoned in 1810. He married Mary Wood in 1811 in Launceston, Tasmania. They had one child during their marriage, Maria Jane, born 1811. He died in Tasmania.

Michael was my Great (x6) Grandfather on my Mothers side. Hoping Michael is a part of a family tree of someone here to gain some clues.

Thanks

Catholic registers usually begin in the 1820's or thereabouts. If he was protestant, you might have luck. But I would think his birth pre-dates existing Irish records.

Comment

Originally posted by Chad Farrell View Post
      Hi all,

I'm new to the forum so if this is the wrong place to post this my apologies. In fact, I'm new to building my tree, a week in, and have already found some interesting stories and characters.

Pretty much the moment I left Australia on a small slice of my family tree the trail has gone cold. I've managed to find out a fair bit about Michael Fitzgerald but cannot find his parents to forge beyond, here's a snapshot: