Lost Cousins newsletter - June 2016

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lost Cousins newsletter - June 2016

Researching Irish families: FARMER, McBRIDE McQUADE, McQUAID, KIRK, SANDS/SANAHAN (Cork), BARR,

Has anyone tried this free On line genealogy course at the FutureLearn site,which starts 18th July

I,ve signed up for it in the hope of becoming more proficient in my research.
    Matt
    My avatar is my fathers father,name unknown.............................

Comment

Hey Matt... I've signed up for the same course... maybe bump into you there?

Comment

Hi Pakehamack and welcome to the forum,I'll keep an eye out for you.
        Matt.

Comment

I did it last time round. If you are not a complete beginner, you will find parts of it rather simplistic. The DNA module is the opposite, it did my head in.
          The course has to cover so much that inevitably it cannot go into anything in any depth.
          Some of the presenters are better than others and there is a lot of background music that is too loud and drowns out the speech. Hopefully all the web chats will work ok. Our first one was a technical disaster but after loads of complaints on the comments boards, the rest were much better.
          The individual lectures containing the overviews and PowerPoint are downloadable.
          One of the best things about the course is the number of useful links at the bottom of the sectors. Some you will need to click on to see items that are being referred to in the PowerPoint. Some are for further reading and some are good links for research. At the end if the course, there is a PDF of all the links given. This came about from suggestions on the comments boards. They showed themselves to be pro-active to suggestions and complaints. I would advise that you save any links you fancy as you go along as I didn't check that the PDF actually does have every one in it.