Irish Records Confusion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Irish Records Confusion

I've done a bit of googling on this, also searched this forum...the threads are a little old now so adding to my confusion so I'm wondering if anyone can shine a light...
    Here in England, we just search free BDM index, and order a certificate, £9.95, jobs a good'n, I have nearly 30 now :p

I'm looking for something similar for the Republic of Ireland, but I'm getting confused because of the this whole Catholic and Non Catholic stuff...

Do they have a database that covers ALL religions and was compulsory to register a bit like here?

And if so is it possible to order the certificates online?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated....

mb

I'm no expert on Irish research but I do know that GRONI is the Irish equivalent of the English/Welsh GRO. Google should bring it up. I don't know anything about Eire.

OC

Comment

There may have been a change since I was ordering my family certs, but until fairly recently, it was not possible to order/ pay for Irish Republic certs online.... payment was in euros either by personal application or by bank cheque, if I remember correctly. I used an agent to obtain my certs (at a hefty cost, I might add) but later was lucky enough to find a 'cousin' in who obtained them on my behalf.

This link should give you more up-to-date info

or if looking at Northern Ireland records:
      Contact details for the General Register Office for Northern Ireland which is within the Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency and administers marriage law and the registration of births, deaths, marriages, civil partnerships and adoption in Northern Ireland.

Non-Catholic marriages were registered from April 1845. universal registration of all births, marriages and deaths began in 1864. A percentage of these were not registered. (A church record of an event may exist with no corresponding civil registration)