Where next with Irish brick wall?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where next with Irish brick wall?

I’ve been researching my Paternal “Dillon” line for just over two years now and my documentary research and family lore all agrees that my Dillons originally came from Ireland. I've researched a detailed tree going back from myself to my 3X Gt Grandfather Patrick Dillon (born about 1818-1822) who moved to Manchester from Ireland (precise location unknown) in about the 1820s or 30s (probably the 1830s). I know that Patrick had a brother called Luke who was in Manchester as well and that their Father was called Patrick and was a farmer somewhere in Ireland. Unfortunately that is as far back as my knowledge goes and I've been stuck at this brick wall for well over a year now.

No-one in my family knows any further information and I have tested my Y-DNA to look for matches but I didn't have any matches at all with FTDNA. I'm starting to feel that I've exhausted all online records (including the newly released Irish Catholic registers but with no luck at getting further back. I feel absolutely stuck at the moment and would really appreciate some advice as to what to do next.

I'm in exactly your position. GGG grandarents born and married in Ireland but came to Yorkshire about 1822. This is well before the famine period of mass emigration and makes it even more difficult.

We had one tiny clue as to where they might have come from .... their first child was born in Ireland and in the 1901 census she gives her place of birth as Drogheda. I trawled through the available Drogheda records looking for a possible baptism or marriage of the parents but have not, so far, been successful. The writing is very hard to read and the names Latinised in various fairly random ways, so that makes it even more uncertain if the right record is found.
    Good luck in your search!
    Anne

Comment