Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for some advice?

Hello,

I have been researching family tree for about ten years now, the problem all I ever did was do random research with no rhyme nor reason for things at times. My final goal for all of this was to do my mother's side, my fathers side and my wife's entire side for our future children, but I am "spinning my wheels" per say in getting an organized system as well as a good program to actually get started in making a tree instead of a very disorganized mess. I am begging for some experience to come out of the woodwork and please help me some advice on anything I mentioned?

Thanks for any help given!

Brett

Originally posted by bglaird617 View Post
    Hello,

I have been researching family tree for about ten years now, the problem all I ever did was do random research with no rhyme nor reason for things at times. My final goal for all of this was to do my mother's side, my fathers side and my wife's entire side for our future children, but I am "spinning my wheels" per say in getting an organized system as well as a good program to actually get started in making a tree instead of a very disorganized mess. I am begging for some experience to come out of the woodwork and please help me some advice on anything I mentioned?

Thanks for any help given!

Brett
    It is very difficult to give advice when we know little about you. I don’t mean personal details but things such as where you live (country). Where your ancestors are from and related time periods. You mention ten years research, but we don't know what has been achieved in that ten years if anything.

However working from what we know your first task before doing any more research is to download a family tree program to enable you to organise your research.
    There are many available and what you download will be determined in part by the type of computer you use (Windows, Mac, Other).