Air Raid Sirens to sound over London

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Air Raid Sirens to sound over London

Just after Christmas, the distinctive wail of an air-raid siren will once again echo out across the City of London.

I was a young police officer in London in the 1980s - we had to test the air-raid siren, which was on the station roof (and probably still is), regularly .... it always made a few passers-by jump when they heard it start to go.

We also had to do a weekly check on the nuclear attack warning system, although that only sounded inside the control room in the station, so the public never knew.
    Last edited by AntonyM; 29-11-15, 12:38.
    Retired professional researcher, and ex- deputy registrar, now based in Worcestershire. Happy to give any help or advice I can ( especially on matters of civil registration) - contact via PM or my website www.chalfontresearch.co.uk
    Follow me on Twittter @ChalfontR

Comment

When I started work in 1969, just down the road there was a factory with an air raid siren on the roof. This used to be tested annually. In the late 70's the factory closed down and the building was demolished. There was a lot of talk about the possible relocation of the siren, but I can't remember the outcome or whether there was further testing.

Jay
      Janet in Yorkshire

Genealogists never die - they just swap places in the family tree

Comment

In the 1960/70s in Paignton, Devon the fire station used an air raid siren. Presumably to call retained firemen to the station when needed.

Chris
        Last edited by Chris in Sussex; 29-11-15, 15:35.
        Avatar....My darling mum, Irene June Robinson nee Pearson 1931-2019.

'Take nothing on its looks, take everything on evidence. There is no better rule' Charles Dickens, Great Expectations.

Comment