Mary Kelly - Rochdale to Ottawa 1888

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mary Kelly - Rochdale to Ottawa 1888

Hi, I am a PhD student at Liverpool University and I am researching female drunkenness in Victorian Lancashire. One of my case studies, a Mary Kelly from Rochdale was brought before the magistrates over 100 times for drunkenness and other offences.

Mary emigrated to Ottawa in either 1888 or 1889 and lived there until her death in 1913. I’ve been able to find her on the Canadian census and also found her funeral report in the Ottawa Citizen. I was wondering if anyone on here has been doing research on the Kelly family or if they know someone who has. I’d love to find out more about her life in Canada and a photograph would be fantastic!

She was born in Athlone, Ireland in the mid-1830s and two of her children followed her to Canada; Edward who married Catherine and became a chef in Montreal and Annie, who became Mrs O’Connell.

I would be happy to share my research on her life in Rochdale. I appreciate it’s a long shot, as Kelly was/is such a common name but thought I’d try. If anyone thinks they can help and would like more info, please let me know.

Thanks,

Craig.

Hi Craig,

Welcome to the Forum
    Usually the best way to find someone with a person in their tree is to check Ancestry trees for the name of the person you are researching, or Genes Re-United trees though doing that the person has to be still active in order to reply to your request.

Maybe someone in Canada might see this and help you with your research but its a bit early yet for Canada.

I hope you get some replies and maybe tomorrow I will check out Genes Re-United trees for her name and POB and DOB and if I see anything I will come back, interesting choice of Subject but back in time alcohol may have been more accessible than clean water and many Employers provided alcohol in the workplace as a liquid refreshment.