I need some help with my gypsy family please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need some help with my gypsy family please

Hi, I’m hoping someone can help me sort this family out please.

I have been doing my Romany Gypsy family for 12 years now since 2002, but as this line isn’t my direct line I had put it on the back burner to do at a later date...only its been over 10 years now and one of their descendants has just contacted me to ask if i have any info, so it’s come to the front again.

George Street & Matilda Caroline Mary Gleed married on 28th Jan 1848 in St Lukes Church, Canning Town (West Ham)
    George originally came from Epping/Loughton way.

I know for definite they had 8 children, as I have marriages & children for them. – Phoebe 1893-1984, Florrie 1895- , Genty 1898-1973, Elizabeth May 1902-1985, George Henry 1905- , Wally 1910-1980 & Emma Martha 1913-1993.

(Its Wally g-granddaughter that has just got in touch with me, as she knows nothing about her family history).

George & Matilda have been very helpful in the 1911 census, saying they had 9 children, but 3 died. They even named the dead children and said how old they would have been! ;D
    But the names don’t match.
    In the 1911 they have - Feeby 20, Florince 15, Genty 13, Lizzie 9, George 6 and Walter 1.
    They have their 3 dead children as – Randle 18, Annie 17 & Isiah 2.
    I have found Isiah’s birth & death in 1909, but can’t find a Randle or Annie anywhere!

In the 1901 census they are living in a van on Plumstead Marsh. Their children are Phoebe 6, Florrie 8 and Justice 2.

After endless searches for Justice, have come to the conclusion that the Enumerator mis-heard and wrote Justice instead of Genty (spoken in a Romany accent?).... but really haven’t a clue about Randle & Annie.

So I need to try and find a Randle/Randal born 1893c and an Annie b1894.......but Phoebe/Feeby was born Oct quarter 1893 in Epping, so must have a 9 month gap either side.