Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tracing my 3 x g/g/gfather

Hi,
    Im new to this forum so please bear with me if I make any mistakes. Ive been researching my family tree for a couple of years, with breaks in between & Ive hit a brickwall.

My grandmother was Alice Maud Ley b1872 in Swansea married to Hiram Morgan b1879

My g/g/father was James ley b1842 in Berrynarbour, Devon married to Elizabeth Ann Slade b1851

My g/g/g/father was John Ley b1813!! Baptism 1816 in Berrynarbour, Devon married to Grace huxtable b1811

The above info (apart for John Ley b1813) has been sourced & documented but this is where my difficulty sets in. I cannot confirm which is my 3 x g/g/father.
    I have him named as William Ley b1788 in Berrynarbour, Devon married to mary Allen b1785 but I do not have the evidence this is him only
    that the marriage is documented, which doesn't prove hes connected to me.

How do I find this out to be able to move on. Your help would be greatly appreciated

Welcome to the Forum. Well done for getting back so far already!

There is often no easy to confirm whether a person so long ago is connected to you - but what you can do is find other evidence that makes it the most likely person because you have eliminated all others or have found some other evidence that gives a strong indication.

Where did you get the information you have? Have you got the baptism for John Ley and if so who are the parents?

The gap between William Ley's birth and John Ley b1813 is 25 years so quite a while to be having children over unless there were 2 wives. Are there other children in the baptism records for William and Mary?

There is a tree on ancestry by elainen1955 that has William Ley in it with a photo of his gravestone and it lists your John as one of the children - if this is not your tree you might like to contact the owner and see what evidence they have.

Margaret

Comment

Hi,