Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've got a terrible headache from this one, can't see the wood for trees

Sorry it's long. I've been wrestling with this one for a few years:(

I am trying to find out about WW1 soldier William Edward Sellers who is commemorated on the village war memorial at Langtoft in East Yorkshire. I can find neither service record nor pension record for him, but the record of UK soldiers died in the Great War records that WES was born Ecclesall (Bradford) but residing at Langtoft.
    This fits with the appearance on Langtoft war memorial, also data on 1891 census http://interactive.ancestry.co.uk/65...l=ReturnRecord
    Fred Sellers with wife Mary, step son William Edward Wray b Ecclesall. ( 1886 birth reg for Wm Ed Wray & 1889 marriage of Fred Sellers & Mary Jane Wray.)
    By 1901 Fred & Mary had moved to Langtoft but now have a son William Sellers, aged 7 , born Driffield. Is this William Edward formerly Wray, or another child?

The spanner in the works is a Driffield birth registration for a William Sellers Q2 1894. Yorkshire BMD shows this to have been in the subdistrict of Driffield; the later Sellers children were registered in the subdistrict of Langtoft, as were children of another Sellers family.
    I can't find a death for W E Wray, nor BOTH he AND the 1894 William in census. A further complication is that there were also a couple of William Sellers born Ecclesall c1886, who remained in the Bradford area.
    All opinions, please.

IF William Wray became Sellers and passed himself off as born Driffield, why would the army record have born Ecclesall?

Jay
    Last edited by Janet in Yorkshire; 26-08-14, 10:14.
    Janet in Yorkshire

Genealogists never die - they just swap places in the family tree

Two things -

1. a lot of WW1 records were destroyed during the blitz - only a certain percentage survive.
    2. if they died in service there wouldn't be any pension records.