Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A few questions...

Hi everyone

I have a few questions about some areas of my family tree and was wondering if anyone would be able to either help or give me some pointers about where to go to research? I'm still quite new to genealogy and am frustrating myself with getting stuck and not knowing where to look haha!

The first problem I have is one that is REALLY bugging me. I'm not sure what information you may need to help, so do ask if I miss anything out I've got back to the early 1700s of the Hitchcock family in Wiltshire, mainly Hilmarton, Goatacre and I've found that Thomas Hitchcock (which seems to have many different spellings back then, I've found Hiscox, Hiscock, Hichkock, Hitchcoks all for the same people) married Ann Jurdgin in Purton on 29-7-1719. And then the trail goes blank. I can't find a Thomas Hitchcock (with any of the surname variations) in the Purton Parish Records. There are a number of female Hitchcocks' baptism records saying "daughter of Thomas" which I'm assuming could possibly be the father of the Thomas I am tracing, but the Parish Records I'm looking at (at the Wiltshire and Swindon History Centre), are saying there were no records taken, for reasons they did not know, for the years 1692, 1693,1694 and I'm thinking that either he was born in those years or he was born in a different parish before his sisters. My question is, which also applies for many of the lines of my tree where I'm getting stuck, which is the best way to find an ancestor when they don't seem to be in the set of Parish Records where you are expecting them?