Finding their full name

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding their full name

Hi, I am new to this. I have found a death record for a potential ancestor but for their middle name they have just the letter. How can I find out what their middle name is, I don't want to purchase the certificate and find it has the wrong middle name. Any suggestions please.

I take it that you know what the middle name should be ?
    If that is the case, you may get lucky if you phone the office where the death was registered. They won't offer information usually, but I have known some to be helpful in confirming given information, so that one can tell whether it is likely to be the correct certificate.

Would you like to give a few details so that we could look for the person in census etc.?

Gwyn

Comment

What year was the death? You may be able to find a burial record online, depending on the location. You may also be able to get the middle name from electoral rolls and or probate index - again, this depends on the year and location. Also, some local register offices will happily give you this information for free via a phone call or email. Some of the local BMD sites even have the full middle names in their index. Why not put the details that you have on here and see what we can find?

Comment

You might be able to cross reference the date of death registration with other records, such as a parish register burial entry, probate calendar, newspaper entry etc.
        You may find that the entry appears in the UK local BMD index and may include the middle name.

If you want to give the details of the entry you are looking at perhaps we can help.
        Elaine

Comment