Newby getting a little confused - hellllllllllllllllp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newby getting a little confused - hellllllllllllllllp

Hi I am new to Family Tree Maker. I am using FMT 2012 ver 21.0.0.723 with Windows 7.

My confusion arises from Sources and Source Citations. Having read my manual several times I think I have now grasped the concept. However, I am unsure where Media under People/Person (Fact, Source, Media & Notes - being the headings) fits in.

I have for example a media item, 1911 Census - 6 ancestors on it. Now, if I link that media item to each one of them under People/Person/Media do I then need to go through the paper chase of designating it as a source or does the media item itself become a Source?

Many thanks for any help given

Perkymite

I have moved your thread to Family Tree Software Perkymite as I thought that people who could help were more likely to see it here.
    Last edited by Chrissie Smiff; 15-02-14, 16:47.

I am sure you could ask a number of people the same question and get different answers!

In my mind the purpose of a source citation is to record where the piece of information came from. If it came from the 1911 census then that for me is the source citation. The fact that I may or may not have the image of the 1911 census attached to that person or persons is irrelevant to me.

Personally I don't think there is a right or wrong way of doing it. You decide how you think it would be best suited for your purposes and then be consistent with that throughout your tree.
    Elaine

Comment

I can understand the confusion here.

If you enter a source citation for your fact and attach an image to the citation itself then that image will show for everybody who links to that citation. and if you change the image or add more images then they will still show for everyone linked to that citation. On the other hand if you directly attach media, via the media tab, then that will show just for that individual.