Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Address search 1911 census Ancestry

Hi

I have a subscription for Ancestry and wondered whether it was possible to do an address search on 1911 census on Ancestry. I can't see how to do this can anyone help please?

Thank you

Originally posted by Gill D View Post
    Hi

I have a subscription for Ancestry and wondered whether it was possible to do an address search on 1911 census on Ancestry. I can't see how to do this can anyone help please?

Thank you
    I don't think you can do it easily but have a look at this page http://search.ancestry.co.uk/search/db.aspx?dbid=2352 where you can put in locations at the side panel where it says Browse . It is easier on Findmypast where you can put in the street etc. but even then it's not always helpful as the streets and roads might be written differently eg RD instead of Rood and ST instead of Street.

Margaret
    Last edited by margaretmarch; 17-01-14, 09:09.

Comment

You can search the summary books by address:

The problem is, the results will only show something like Mr. Smith with 2 adults and 3 children in household. When you click on "view record" you will get registration district, piece, ED district etc. and if you look at the image it will give you an idea of neighbours, which if they have more uncommon names then you can do a name search using their details and work back or forth through the pages.
      Elaine

Comment

Looking at that more thoroughly all you get is the resulting enumeration district which would then entail scrolling through all the pages to find the street you were looking for.

Margaret

Comment

Originally posted by margaretmarch View Post
          Looking at that more thoroughly all you get is the resulting enumeration district which would then entail scrolling through all the pages to find the street you were looking for.

Margaret
          Using that link, if I enter 27 Marylands Road in the Street Address box, I get 4 results