Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Liverpool Birth

Hi
    Am I in the right section to ask for help in looking for a birth that has frustrated for years...It is my Grandfathers, I have sent off on three occasions but told I am asking for the wrong one.
    James Murray born 1890 Liverpool Lancashire died 6 March 1964 Liverpool Lancashire aged 74 yrs (from head stone)
    Parents Thomas Murray b 1847 and Sarah Hyslop b 1857 (has been spelt Hislop).
    Also how do I go further on my greatest so far grandfather Joseph Gibson b about 1750/1752 (can not find the birth) Liverpool Lancashire as far as I can guess, I have his marriage and his children...Can this be found on Ancestry as I have a subscription. Any help would so be appreciated.
    Regards
    Colin

There is a birth for James Murray, Sep.Qtr.1890 W. Derby. 8b 461
    This looks as if it is the only one for 1890. The year previous there are 3 James Murray (1889), on from W.Derby Rural, one from Toxteth Park and one for Wavertree.
    Vonny

Comment

How old is he on the 1891 census?

There are several ways you can proceed with this. I believe the GRO will do a search for you if you give parents names. Do remember though, that they will match your info EXACTLY, so if his father was Tom and you say he was Thomas, you won't get the cert.

You could also request the cert from the local RO (Liverpool) stating that his parents' names are blah blah - but again, you will only get the cert which EXACTLY matches what you ask for.

OC

Comment

There is a birth for James Murray, Sep.Qtr.1890 W. Derby. 8b 461
        This looks as if it is the only one for 1890. The year previous there are 3 James Murray (1889), on from W.Derby Rural, one from Toxteth Park and one for Wavertree.
        Vonny

Comment

This is the only James Gibson I can find b.1750
          Baptism: 11 Nov 1750 St Mary, Dalton in Furness, Lancashire, England
          James Gibson - Son of Edmond Gibson
          Abode: Barrow