When did birth registration come into force

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When did birth registration come into force

I have been researching my family tree for 2 years now, and cannot find my great great grandfather birth at all. His age on census marriage and death cerificates do not match and so his birth can be within a 10 year radius. I'm beginning to think he wasn't registered. Any pointers please? I'm new to the forum so any help on here will be gratefully accepted.

Civil registration in England and Wales started in 1837 though some births were not registered as a) parents thought if the child was baptised they didn't need to register and b) to start with it was the responsibility of the registrar to seek out births. Penalties for parents who didn't register births came in later.

Sorry I should have said Welcome to the forum Joanne
    Why not give us his name and the details you do have and see if one of the sleuths on here can help?
    Judith passed away in October 2018

Comment

Welcome to the forum.. depends on what country, in England and Wales 1 July 1837 although it took a few years for people to catch on and many didn't like the 'big brother' approach so didn't register until they found that by not registering they missed out on other things and after a couple of years people were fined for not registering within x number of weeks of the birth, so at first you can find some not registered as well as some registered late and lied about te DoB so they didn't get fined.

Scotland's registration began on 1st January 1855.

In Ireland prior to 1864, churches kept all records of births, marriage and deaths in Ireland. As early as 1845, the government began requiring registration of all non-catholic marriages. In 1864, all registration records were recorded by the government. The original records from 1845-1921 for all of Ireland are in Dublin, after 1922 NI are in Belfast
      Foxyloxy

Comment