Quick Question about Burial Records

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quick Question about Burial Records

Received my Gt Gt Grandmother's birth certificate this morning.

Sarah Hopley born 3 June 1849 @ Great Boughton, Chester, time on birth cert 12 noon.

So I assume that she was a twin. There are no other Hopley births on the same page for the same district of that qtr so I'm guessing it was a stillbirth.

Assuming I'm correct (and its not just an over-enthusiastic Registrar!), and I know there's no Stillbirth Register, would there be a BURIAL record for a stillborn child? Obviously the child would need to be buried, but having never encountered a stillbirth to date, I've no experience as to whether the burial would have been noted in the Parish Registers?

Thanks in advance ;D

Lou

Jemima

If the other twin was stillborn, then legally speaking it wasn't a twin birth and the time should not have been recorded but maybe some confusion arose at the time of registration. Some registrars were under the impression they had to record the time for ALL births, but I think that confusion was cleared up before 1849.

There is no official register of Stillbirths until the 1920s (?).

I have seen some still birth burials recorded in parish registers. I think it depended a lot on the Vicar.

OC

Comment

There's a death for a Samuel Hopley aged 0 in 1849, same registration district as Sarah. I cannot see a corresponding birth for him. (Cheshirebmd)

OC

Comment

Not sure about Districts, but Family Search has records in Thornton-le-Moors, Cheshire for a Samuel HOPLEY:
        bap 8 April 1849
        bur 13 April 1849

Christine