Burials for Workhouse deaths

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Burials for Workhouse deaths

Thought I would open this topic up, following on from a thread in the general discussion board, regarding the Secrets of the Workhouse programme last night on tv.

Apparently, from the Anatomy Act of 1832, to pay back the debt an inmate owed to society for care in life, sometimes their body was sent for vivisection and dissection for science, if the family could not afford to take the body away for burial.

Does anyone have any information about this and how a decision was made for a paupers burial by the workhouse or body going for science research? Thanks.

Amanda
    Last edited by Guest; 26-06-13, 12:50.

No not vivisection! that means experimenting on a living organism!

I have no specific knowledge but would imagine that the science research option would only have been practical where the workhouse was near a university or teaching hospital - ie in a few big cities.
    Last edited by JudithM; 26-06-13, 13:29.
    Judith passed away in October 2018

Comment

Believe the parish buried them in paupers graves unless family claimed them. If there was a teaching hospital close to the workhouse and they requested some bodies for their students to practice on then no doubt the authorities gave their permission but I doubt whether it was wholesale ie all bodies being offered to the hospital.

Looking at the register of the death of the man there were quite a few in their 70's and 80's that died around the same time.

You also have to remember that the workhouse doubled as a hospital and care home for the old and infirm and I have quite a few that when the death was registered gave a different address from the workhouse where they died. Also if you look at your local hospital you'll probably find out that it started life as a workhouse.

Researching Irish families: FARMER, McBRIDE McQUADE, McQUAID, KIRK, SANDS/SANAHAN (Cork), BARR,

Comment