Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help with Irish Roots - Mary Ann Mullen (abt 1831 Ireland - 1907 Saskatchewan)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Irish Roots - Mary Ann Mullen (abt 1831 Ireland - 1907 Saskatchewan)

I have little experience trying to trace Irish ancestors, and the little experience I have has resulted in a sore head as a result of repeated contact with a brick wall. Now I’m trying to assist a cousin to trace his direct descendant and my ancestor by marriage. If anyone could point me in the right direction, we would appreciate it.

What we know:
    Mary Ann (or Maryan or Maryanne) Mullen (or Mullan) married John Thompson (or Thomson) (1813-1906) in Argenteuil, Quebec, Canada on 08 Aug 1848. A John Mullen was a witness as was a Finley McGibbon. Husband John is of Irish descent, son of John & Jane.
    The 1851 census data for Chatham, Argenteuil, Quebec is missing, or we can't find it.
    Mary Ann, John & children Elizabeth, John, Maryann, William, and Robert are fairly easily traced thru the Canada Census from 1861 onward. Most census data shows her as a Baptist, and born in Ireland although the 1861 census shows born in Lower Canada (Quebec). The family lived in Chatham, Argenteuil, Quebec until they moved west to Abernethy, Saskatchewan in 1882/83. The 1901 census shows an immigration year of 1833 for Mary Ann.
    Her tombstone identifies her as Maryan Mullen, 1830-1907.

What we think:
    Her elderly grandson born 1906 told the family Mary Ann was the daughter of John Mullen and Elizabeth Shannon.

To complicate matters:
    An 1851 Census of Scotland has worked its way into the research and may or may not be our John Mullan family. That census is for
    Civil parish: Houston and Killellan
    Town: Crosslee
    County: Renfrewshire
    Address: Stevenson's Land