Please help me

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help me

I have been dipping in and out of doing my family tre for a few years now. I never seem to get any further along the with it. Can someone please guide me through the few basic steps I should be doing for each and every person in my tree?

I know that on my late Dad's birth certificate no father was named and straight away I hit a brick wall.

Please can anyone advise me on anything to help me.

First of all, was your dad baptised? If so the father may be named on the baptism register.

Secondly, when was he born? If it was before 1911 try to find the census entry for the family.

Third, what about electoral registers? He may have reached the age of majority whilst still living with his parents.

If none of the above apply, could you post a few more details e.g. name, date of birth, place of birth?
    Co-ordinator for PoW project Southern Region 08
    Researching:- Wieland, Habbes, Saettele, Bowinkelmann, Freckenhauser, Dilger in Germany
    Kincaid, Warner, Hitchman, Collie, Curtis, Pocock, Stanley, Nixey, McDonald in London, Berks, Bucks, Oxon and West Midlands
    Drake, Beals, Pritchard in Kent
    Devine in Ireland

Comment

Tivvy.. if you look above your post on here you will see some headings in the navbar...

Date of Birth Estimator - Starting Out on Your Research - Online Research - The Census
      Julie
      They're coming to take me away haha hee hee..........

.......I find dead people

Comment

Micheal George Grace, born 2/8/1939, died 2/7/2012. I know his Mum (my nan - Gertrude Lucy Grace) and two other children - Herbie (Herbert - I think) & Charlie (Charles). They have all now passed away and I do not have any real way of finding anymore information. My Nan I believe had all three children out of wed lock.

Comment

He was born in Gloucestershire

Comment

How can I find out the birth records of both Herbie & Charlie? I have been looking for ages.

Comment