Public Trees on Ancestry

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Public Trees on Ancestry

I have always made the point of never putting my family trees on the internet. I have been researching our trees since 2000 and must admit the information out there is considerably more than when I started.

In my research I have often gone off down the wrong road but extra checking; visits to the Records Office at Durham and the purchase of certificates usually put me right. Because I have gone as far as I can with my research I occasionally feed in a search of public trees on Ancestry just to see what other people have found out. I and am totally amazed at the amount of misinformation which pops up as fact on some of these trees.

Surely if you are going to publish your tree you should verify the information you put out there.

I shall now step down off my soap box.
    Linda - Happy Hunting

A tidy house is the sign of a broken computer

Researching: Brown, Bell, Key and Musgrave from Cumberland. Dodds, Green, Campbell, Hall, Armstrong, Davison from Co. Durham. Raymond from Devon/Cornwall.

Amen, sister!

Comment

But if you want it to have lots of people in it and to have it started and finished in a couple of weeks, then you simply don't have time to CHECK anything - shock, horror at the very idea. You're far too busy scouting on tinternet for new bits you can just graft on to what you've already got.

Jay
      Janet in Yorkshire

Genealogists never die - they just swap places in the family tree

Comment

there are some parts of my tree that are NOT verified, but to BE verified, likewise there is some information on my trees that I have deliberately added wrongly... [I have figured that IF a relative wishes to contact me then they may offer the right information, but, if they do not check it for themselves then they will not know what is right or what is wrong!.. yes it might be cruel, but, I have spent the time doing the legwork!!
        Julie