Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Researching my grandfather with very few details - need some help

Hi everyone

Complete newbie to genealogy here, and a new member to boot, looking for some help.

A friend has researched my family history and has over 500 names and ten generations. On my mother's side of the family, the brick wall started at my grandfather.

This is what I have to date:

His name was Henry Henley Healy, born 1870 in Putney, London. Married Ellen Eliza Bonney at Holy Trinity Church in Bishop's Stortford in 1898. Died Rochford, Essex 1929. He was a life assurance salesman and then a captain in the 2nd btn. Essex Regt in WW1.

His wife and her ancestors have been traced back to 1560. She died in 1907, and my grandfather remarried a few years later, taking his three children with him and fathering five or six more with his second wife.

His father's name was Henry Folkner Healy, commercial traveller. I have no other details on him, nor can I find any. An old family rumour says his son Henry Henley was illegitimate, the son of an Irish actress.

Today (29.1.13) I have applied to GRO for Henry Henley Healy's birth certificate and am waiting to see if their search reveals anything, though I had no Qtr, District, Vol or Page to offer them as I've had with other applications. I have also written to the Essex Regiment Museum in Chelmsford to see if they can help.

If the GRO and Essex Regt can't help, can anyone direct me in the next step of my search please?

I've had a brief look on Ancestry sites and Army records sites, but must admit found them rather confusing. One threw up over 800 names and birthplaces, even though I specifically typed correct date, birthplace and name. I gave up after that.

Thanks

Tim

He must have had a penchant for ladies named Ellen, as his second wife was Ellen Cannons, whom he married in Sept Qtr 1908 (reg dist orsett, Essex.)