Probate question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Probate question

I have noticed that quite a few of my ancestors left their cash to people other than family members, including spouses. I'm not familiar with the ins and outs of UK inheritance laws but it seems to me that this was done to perhaps escape the tax man. Am I close to the mark on this? Their is no mention of property in the probate records; a seperate procedure perhaps?

As I understand the matter, the granting of probate to a person or persons is merely permission for those named to execute the terms of the will. The named persons are not necessarily the beneficiaries of the will. Wikipedia has further comments

However, I am no legal expert and others may have more relevant comments to make.
    Last edited by Macbev; 26-01-13, 13:52.

Beverley

Comment

Depending upon the time scale you're referring to, if by property you mean a farm, business premises or house etc, the majority of people (even the better off) were tenants rather than owners.

Jay
      Janet in Yorkshire

Genealogists never die - they just swap places in the family tree

Comment

You will have to obtain the will to find out who bequests were made to, as Macbev says, the person named on the probate is the person who has to do all the paperwork.

Comment

Thanks, I just thought it odd that there would be a mention of the person's cash on hand and nothing else. But I guess when you get right down to it the tax people would only be interested in the money.

Comment

The value of any property would be included in the probate valuation so the figure shown could consist of cash, property values, value of, say, works of art etc etc and as Macbev said, the executors are the people who are dealing with the estate and may not be inheriting anything. They could, for example be a solicitor or bank.
            Jackie

Comment