World War One question.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• World War One question.

I've never used these records on Ancestry before as all mine were in Australia, but I'm helping my step-dad.

I've found his uncle George Ernest Knightly Evans born 1890, killed in action 3 Sept 1916. I have no idea where.

He was born in Ireland (Kerry). According to Ancestry's "UK Soldiers who died in the Great War", he was in the Prince of Wales's Leinster Regiment (Royal Canadians).

Can anyone tell me if I can find anything else on Ancestry or elsewhere???

I have tried all the other Ancestry databases I can see but nothing comes up for "George Ernest Knightly Evans" and hundreds for George Evans.

Thanks.

Found where he is buried....Delville Wood Cemetery Longueval, France.

I'd love to know the story around it or his record.

Comment

I can't see any more on Ancestry, but he's on the CWGC site, if that's any help.

scuda
      Pitman / Pittman in North Glos (Didbrook, Prestbury, Longhope, Tewkesbury, Stow, Cirencester, etc), London & Australia

Comment

Hi Libby
        If you google "Langueval" you can find the WW1 battlefields website, which describes a bit of the fighting there, and the cemeteries etc
        Diane
        Sydney Australia
        Avatar: Reuben Edward Page and Lilly Mary Anne Dawson

Comment

Google the "long, long trail" it has vast amounts of ww1 stuff. The great war forum is closed at the moment as they suffered a malware attack and won't be back on line till they've cleaned up.

Comment

Hi Libby,

His medal card is on Ancestry (George E K Evans), and is more informative than most. I can send you the image if you can't access it.

scuda
            Pitman / Pittman in North Glos (Didbrook, Prestbury, Longhope, Tewkesbury, Stow, Cirencester, etc), London & Australia

Comment

Hi
              You don't say if youv'e got his death cert, if you haven't here is the ref.
              "Index of War Deaths 1914-21 Vol. 0.9 Page 3".