New boy looking for more info on William Hooper

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New boy looking for more info on William Hooper

I've found the William Hooper that I'm looking for on the 1891 census. He's married to Alice Wildman and living with her parents in Farnworth, Lancashire. He was my great-grandfather. I've actually spoken with several of their offspring in the late 40's and early 50's.

William died in 1900, so he's not on the 1901 census. The 1891 census records his place of birth as Shipton, Somerset. I live in Somerset myself but there is no place called Shipton. There's a Shipham, but that doesnt throw up anything at all.

Obviously, I need to locate him on an earlier census to find the name of his parents. I'm quite new to this, so I'd appreciate any advice that's out there.

Many thanks, Mike

He's in Farnworth in 1881. His birthplace is hard to read; it looks like Sheptonmeet, which I suppose might be a stab at Shepton Mallet.

Comment

I think you'll need to get his marriage cert to go any further back with certainty, because it'll give his father's name and occupation.

Comment

Ah, found the marriage on the LancsOPC site:

Marriage: 3 Jun 1885 St James, New Bury, Farnworth, Lancashire, England
        William Hooper - 26 Commercial Traveller Bachelor of 73 Bennett Street
        Alice Wildman - 24 Spinster of Lea Farm Highfield
        Groom's Father: William Hooper, Gentleman
        Bride's Father: John Wildman, Farmer (Deceased)
        Witness: George Hooper; Bertha Newton
        Married by Banns by: George Holden Vicar
        Register: Marriages 1866 - 1891, Page 190, Entry 379
        Source: Register at Manchester Central Library

OPC, Online Parish Clerk, family history, local history, free data, parish registers, census, Lancashire

I should be a bit surprised if his father was really a gentleman, though, as he was working as a grocer's assistant in 1881.

Comment